Pullup improvement: HELP????

bulldogs85

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
I am trying to improve my pull-up repetitions. I've only started really doing true pull-ups over the last year. I'm 601, 210 lbs, and can do 10 pullups, palms forward, full extension. My goal is 20. I've tried it all. Rows, extra pushup work, pull-up assist machines, etc. I know dropping body weight is an option, but I'm trying to compete in amateur MMA at 205. I work as a police officer, and want to tryout for SWAT, and pullup reps is a test. So, without dropping body weight, I'm trying to raise my reps.

Any advice on what has worked for any of you?

off-topic but you're at 210, and wanting to compete at 205? that isnt much of a cut, are you planning to bulk up?

anyways for the pullups, other than vest or weighted...after you start to fail on later sets,try using a chair or something as assistance. my problem would be doing sets 5x# or whatever, and failing pretty quickly on the last two sets, so i'd just cheat and use a lift of some sort, it seemed to help my max pullups. or back in wrestling we'd partner up, and after failure they'd assist us

i dont usually push myself with barbell, but pullups/dips i keep going after i cant goes no more

off-topic but you're at 210, and wanting to compete at 205? that isnt much of a cut, are you planning to bulk up?

QUOTE]

Weight cutting is overrated in amateur mma. I compete a few hours after the weigh-in, you don't have the time to recover from a hard weight cutting process;