Problem with muay thai club?

geoffreysquire

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys,

About a month ago I started Muay Thai at a well known gym in London. Being a student I can only train during the day when the gym is open but not many people there except me and a friend. At first it was good, shown punches, kicks, elbows, defences etc.

However for the past 3 weeks I have been going in there, doing my skipping , pad work and punch bag with no guidance from the instructor. He never tells me if im doing something right or wrong, just wanders around and I feel like an idiot asking him again and again for advice. My kick isnt perfect, and instead of the teacher helping I ask other students who dont always like to be bothered. I know I still have a hellava lot to do on my basics which ive been taught, but some personal instruction in the class would be nice. I mean theres no point elbowing/kicking the bag hundreds of time and then finding out its all wrong. I know you gotta pay for private lessons, which isnt what im asking for, just a little bit more direction rather than "punch bag now".

Am i being unreasonable? Is this how all MT clubs train? Give you the basic techniques and leave it to you to train and for the attacks to get stronger through practise?

thanks

There's one instructor? No assistant instructors for the lower level students?
Does he treat all the beginners this way?

As for developing technique, you shouldn't worry.
As long as you observe yourself and keep experimenting, you will find effective techniques, even if they're different from what they might teach you.

Look at all the guys in K-1. Some of them strike really technically and pretty, others are really awkward. But they've gotten that stuff to work for them by really using them and perfecting them.