Pro fighters my size?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by c0r1nth14n, Sep 26, 2010.

1. c0r1nth14n

c0r1nth14n Blue Belt

I've been doing muay thai for about 8 months, and I'm starting to think about trying a smoker match or something similar. It would be a long way off, probably a year or so, but I've been trying to find pro fighters of my size that I could watch. I've got a very slender build, I'm at 5'9" and about 145 lbs/65 kg right now. I could put on maybe another 10 pounds tops (I'm working on building some more muscle), but probably not quite that much, and I imagine I'd want to cut weight after that. I'm guessing I'd want to fight at welterweight. I've been looking around, but having trouble finding muay thai (or k-1 would work) fighters of my size. They mostly seem to be shorter and stockier.

So I'm wondering if anyone knows some good fighters of that size, or where I could find a list of Muay Thai/K-1 welterweight champions? Or if I'm completely wrong in my assumptions about weight class or something? Thanks for all your help!

2. xilliun

xilliun Brown Belt

buakaw por pramuk is 5'9 153 pounds. you'd probably get a lot of thais with similar builds

3. c0r1nth14n

c0r1nth14n Blue Belt

I'll try him, thanks!

4. RealDealSteele

RealDealSteele White Belt

Look at most of the fairtex fighters. They'll be good guys to watch.

5. The_observer86

The_observer86 Green Belt

There was a K-1 63 kg tournament this year, plenty of ppl your size. Check it out. Yuta Kubo in the final match is also 5'9''.

6. Peekay1982

Peekay1982 Orange Belt