prepping my first fight against a striker

pedro90

White Belt
Reaction score
ok so on 11/7 i have match against of associate of mine. more of a comparison of style and skill. Since we have kinda hyped it up and have formulated a rule set with a venue Im treating this like one of my amateur fights.

my oppenent only knows that i study jiujutsu. he doesnt have any idea of what system of it. i.e. daito ryu, goshin, or Brazilian( i study BJJ). all he knows is i study a form of JJ. i dont believe he is researching it for this fight, but i could be wrong.

my strength is my BJJ and sub grappling. ive been doing for 2 years. go to practice ruffly three times a week and some home or gym exercises, however i have a 7 years gung-fu background, which served as some of basis, and helpful to my takedown setups. as well as some standup. however im worst on my feet. my entire idea is to try to do the royce gracie thing and do a front snap kick to make contact with his body in order to close the distance, to help execute my takedown.

what i know of my oppoenet is he is somewhat taller then me and has longer range. he has No bjj or grappling training, neither does he have any "formal" training. he "style" is based off of tae kwon do, muay thai, and capoeira kicking techniques, that he has learned from youtube. As well as internet articles that he has practices and applies when he sparrs. He is against dojo's and believes soleley in self teaching.
( i know what your thinking, but i dont want to understimate him under any circumstances. Its the greatest sin of combat)

i personally think i can and will win with the good ol royce gracie strategy. At the same time, im trying my best to not underestimate him. I know ill have it in the bag if get him in mount, even if i got in his guard( seeing as he doesnt know what those are) but this is my first amateur match, and i want to be prepared as possible. Anymore tips against fighting an opponent like this?