predicament

flyingknee16

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
i've been training no gi jiu jitsu for two years now and i've noticed a lot of improvement in the past year ... anyway, the jiu jitsu club i am currently attending is making teh gi a mandatory thing. should i go ahead and do bjj with a gi (which i have NEVER done before), or try to focus on something else like lifting weights or striking? i want to do mma eventually too. i can do no gi stuff on the side with other friends, but i'm wondering if learning jiu jitsu with a gi will help me more than set me back. thnx.

give it a shot. mat time is better than no mat time. just keep in mind what shit wont work with no gi and try not to rely on that shit. they say gi makes you better defensively so here's hoping to that. my gi arrives in a few days and it was $110 with shipping and a belt from atama (black a-3 gold weave).

i dont like spending money but they supposedly last for a few years so if the shit dont work out, you've got some neat evening wear for a while.

your not going to like it but it will even develop your game to a higher level. Roger gracie, jacare... both started with the gi and are still big gi players.

I began with gi and still train both. The gi will definitely sharpen your skills and make you more technical and able to "appreciate" the different positions and concepts. I know that it has given me the edge when training without it as only minor adjustments need to be made, but positioning is basically the same.

I mostly train with a gi on but I do both from time to time. I like the gi.

1) It's hard. It's hot, it's rough on my skin, it saps your cardio, and it's punishing. I like that.
2) It makes you technical. Spazzy stuff like yanking around will work without a gi on unless the other guy is really good. With a gi you'll be punished for bad technique and you'll avoid bad habits that would get you nailed against better bjj guys.