Practicality of a gogoplata?

EstouSBT

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Is there really any use for a gogoplata other than being a flashier triangle? Sorry if it's a stupid question, I'm a noob at grappling.

You won't get 99% of your sparring partners in a gogoplata unless there is an extreme gap between you in skill level. Triangle, Armbar, Olmoplata.... nuff said.

it can be setup from rubber guard in a way that makes it more of an attack that is used to get reactions to setup the omaplata or other moves

it's not a high percentage technique as it requires them to be square with you.

its a valid technique & i have seen comp matches won with it.... its not high percentage though

its not a flashier triangle at all, it blocks off your air as opposed to a triangle that blocks off the blood to your brain. i always go for them but so rarely get them. i think ive hit about 3 in 2 years which is ridiculous considering im always looking for them

I've only landed a couple but the times i've actually pulled one out I have kind of used it as a counter to my opponent attempting to stack me while in my guard.

its not a flashier triangle at all, it blocks off your air as opposed to a triangle that blocks off the blood to your brain. i always go for them but so rarely get them. i think ive hit about 3 in 2 years which is ridiculous considering im always looking for them

maybe you should try setting it up from rubber guard..and if it's not working just go for the omaplata

or maybe look for something you can actually get more than 3 times in 2 years lol.

It makes me feel squeamish about my knees, so I don't bother. I suppose I could block their hip with my other heel but given it's low percentage nature, I'll pass! Omaplata's way more useful.

I get super annoyed when people go for gogoplatas on me. Usually because the people who do initially ram their shin into my grill, and than make me smell their feet while we stalemate.