Social POTWR 2019 Vol 3: Examining Opioid Addiction In America

Cubo de Sangre

F65
@plutonium
Reaction score
Greetings War Room Sherbros,

Welcome to the next installment of the Presidential sticky-threads. This one will be a round-table discussion on the extent, causes, and cures of the opioid "epidemic" in America. The panel is comprised of board members who have experience as some type of law enforcement, in the medical field, or having themselves abused these painkillers. Discussion will be lead by @nhbbear.

Cheers,

Cubo

Law Enforcement Panel:

Medical/Care/Use Panel:

***This is an ongoing series of sticky-threads that will take on various topics in varying ways. If you're interested in leading a discussion on something please take a look at this thread and then send me a PM with your ideas.

POTWR 2019 Vol 1: Shots Fired! Examining Police Shootings In America
POTWR 2019 Vol 2: Happy Happy Joy Joy

Last edited:
Hello, my name is Kevin, and I have been a police officer for sixteen years in a city of 30,000. In the immediate area of the city, there is approximately 150,000 people. My department has over 30,000 calls per year, and we average 3 murders and 20+ shootings per year. We also average 12 overdoses per week, and have 13 deaths on average, every year, from heroin.

I have been a supervisor for the last 8 years, with the last two as a lieutenant in charge of a shift of 16 officers. In addition to running my shift, I am also a district commander in charge of an area of 15,000 citizens. Before I became a supervisor, I was the defensive tactics instructor for the department for ten years. I was also a taser instructor for ten years. I am considered a use of force expert, and have testified and given depositions for court proceedings regarding the use of force by officers.