Posture problem with Muay Thai

pain1814

White Belt
Reaction score
I have been training in Muay Thai for about 6 months seriously and I still get yelled at for having bad posture when I throw punches. When moving around the posture is fine, but when i throw punches, especially my left hook the posture in my lower back gets messed up and sticks my chin up in the air. Basically when i throw some punches i stand too upright as opposed to the correct stance of being hunched over with your lower back relaxed and your chin down. My instructor thinks this may be some bad habit that I learned from years of wrestling or something along those lines. Does anybody have any idea how to train to fix this? I have been trying to for a while and have had little success.

Thank you,

Are you backing up when your chin goes up in the air, if your attacking with your hook, unless your scared to get hit i cant see how your chins move up.

Anyone i notice who doesnt like getting punched in the face tends to lean back or stright up and move there head back kind of how you discribed.

Personaly i have a tendancy to keep my chin tucked soo much i take jabs/cross's off my forhead. but im pretty agressive and usualy always move forward :|

I don't think it has to do with that. The reason is that it happens in bag work and with focus mits. I stand too upright, and i am told that the problem is in my back posture, when i stand too upright it make my chin stick up in the air. I get the problem when i throw punches but it is most noticable when i throw the left hook. I am conscious of it when i train but its a bad habit that is hard to fix. Imagine standing upright and sticking your chest out, that is the kind of posture i get, as opposed to being relaxed.

im not sure but i think when you throw a left hook your supposed to keep your chin tucked

behind your shoulder so it shields it or something

Stop giving people advice Mr. Locker Room brawler.