1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Possible to transition from armbar/guard to armbar/mount?

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by LODD2, Oct 6, 2010.

  1. LODD2

    LODD2 Yellow Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I'm not able to go to BJJ for a short while because I am quite busy, but I am wondering if it is possible to fake or lock an armbar from guard and the guy posts/leans on you that you that you can spin your other leg over their head and lock in an armbar from mount. Was just thinking this, I am sure other people have also thought about transitions outside of BJJ while walking or waiting or something.

    To be more clear, I lock in a regular armbar from guard but its not locked in at the right place and the guy uses his other arm to form a gable grip to help stop me from locking it in. Is it possible/useful that I throw my leg over his neck and then do an armbar from mount except he is facing downward instead of up?

    Personally thinking again, I think its better used if possible from a triangle as it seems more well suited, but then again, if you have someone in a triangle position, I am guessing you want to stay in it rather than risk him escaping the armbar from mount attempt.

    Thoughts?
    If it is possible and is actually used, can someone post a video of it happening?
     
  2. redaxe

    redaxe Silver Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,166
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yeah, if you go for an armbar from guard and he stacks you to defend, you can underhook his leg and do sort of a flower sweep and finish the armbar from mount.

    Or you can extend your body backward, come out from underneath and finish the armbar belly down with your opponent face down.
     
  3. LODD2

    LODD2 Yellow Belt

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Oliver Geddes

    Oliver Geddes Amateur Fighter

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    2,234
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    London, England
    The rules state no neck cranks except Men's Advanced and up, per the website, so, I guess it would be illegal, yes.

    If he'd even pretended it was an ezekiel or something, then he would be okay, but as shown, I would have called it an illegal neck crank.

    Just my opinion, not a grapplers quest employee or ref!

    Take care,

    Oli
     
  5. CyberFreq

    CyberFreq Blue Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    903
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe I'm missing something, but I would think the mechanics of an armbar from the guard or from the mount would be the same.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.