Piriformis syndrome

cincymma79

Double Yellow Card
Double Yellow Card
Reaction score
Any other sufferers of this bullshit? How do you manage it? Normally a flare up sidelines me for three or four weeks but it's been going on there mo ths now. I can squat okish and my upper body is progressing, but I can deadlift for shit. Anything over 405 is instant pain, sumo or conventional, and I can only do a couple reps at 405. Thinking about getting a shot or looking into ablation.

soft tissue work can be helpful sometimes. injection would probably be the next most conservative option.

I heard it's caused by going for 1RMs too often.

Ha I've had it for over a decade, it flares up for no reason. I can wake up with it after doing nothing all day. It sucks. Given I've been lifting for the sake of lifting for like two years...

I had it for about a year. Ranged from mild to excruciating. I think the underlying causes were a muscular imbalance, overuse, and tightness. Hip/hamstring stretches, foam rolling, alternating between sitting and moving, and anti-inflammatories helped with the symptoms. Probably a good idea to go see a sports medicine Doctor, if you want to fix the underlying cause.

Maybe this area sucks for that but I've been to a GP and ortho. The chiropractor gets me symptom relief but it never dies. Maybe I'll broaden my search a bit

had it for a year. worst time of my life. it started with too much odd object lifting like sandbags/stones. in my case, i can't lift anymore with a wide stance. as soon as my legs have to rotate outwards over the object or with sumo deads, i will feel it immediately.

i did stretches and foam rollers and ibuprofen.

you could try deadlifting with a very narrow stance like vince anello.
work around it. avoid much glute concentration or outside rotation of your legs when you are in pain.
just be careful, man. this shit can get brutal. just go to a doctor and heal up.