Personal training after years of working out

Bme26

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I'm coming up on 30 years old and am considering hiring a legit personal trainer for a few sessions. I've been working out for a little over 10 years; I feel I'm in great shape, but I've never been able to attain my goals since I've started working out. My system is basic, but I know is flawed. I usually go into the gym and target certain muscle groups; back/bis, shoulders, chest, etc and that's basically what I've been doing. I did do a 6 month stint of Crossfit (i know, i know), but there, I was first exposed to olympic style lifting. My body felt better and I felt a lot stronger, but it still was a bit overkill at times and the scheduling was a bit chaotic so I decided to quit

Now I want to be a lot more effective with my time in the gym and really strive for the results I want. Even for the first time developing diet and sticking to it. Before I would eat anything I wanted and get away with it. Could anyone give me input on the best ways to move forward. Choosing a trainer? Where to start with a diet plan? The type of lifting I should be more geared to?

Currently I play tennis relatively competitively and train Muay Thai, so my goals are to improve physically in both of these areas. I would also like to develop my physique more than it currently is.

Read the FAQs here and over in Diet&Supplements, then go from there.
There are many personal trainers not worth the oxygen they breathe, but you can probably find a good coach at any decent Oly/PL/S&C-gym.

You said you wanted your time to be more effective. Effective towards what? To improve your tennis game? To look better? To get stronger? It would help to know that.

As far as a trainers I hate to shit on them in general, but out of the umpteen gyms I've been to every single last one of them that I have seen in person are absolute dog shit and dont give a fuck about helping you improve yourself.