Passing full guard?

Greero

White Belt
Reaction score
Okay, I used search so please don't flame me. Today in class I was rolling with this guy wanted to keep me in his guard the whole time. I tried every pass i knew on this guy and just couldn't get out.

I tried my elbows in his thy, I tried under hooking him, I tried rolling back and going for and ankle lock.

So basically, what works best for you?

When a guy is intent in keeping a closed and locked guard, it is very difficult to open it.

There are several "baiting" things you can try but generally they are not the best ideas unless your a bit more advanced.

Just remember for him to attack you in any way he is going to have to open the guard. Your best bet is to work your passes and be patient, he'll open and move for a sweep or attack eventually.

I'm only a beginner myself, but one that seems to work for me is to dig the elbows in the thighs and eventually, my partner will open one of the legs. At this point, I pin his thigh down with my knee, and try to go into side control from there.

Stand up and pass, elbows in the thighs is a waste of time.

When a guy is intent in keeping a closed and locked guard, it is very difficult to open it.

There are several "baiting" things you can try but generally they are not the best ideas unless your a bit more advanced.

Just remember for him to attack you in any way he is going to have to open the guard. Your best bet is to work your passes and be patient, he'll open and move for a sweep or attack eventually.

Thanks, I guess I was just getting frustrated and rushing my passes.

If you have proper posture and hand position, you should have no problem breaking open a guys guard no matter how strong his legs are. Breaking the guard isn't really the hard part, passing the guys open guard is usually where the difficult battle lies.

Some high percentage guard breaks: