Pain from eating leg kicks

manwich

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
So in my last muay thai class we drilled a certain combo that involved taking a low kick to the lead leg (without shin guards). My partner is one of the more experienced guys and has nasty leg kicks so it was a rough 15 minutes working with him. 5 days later my leg still hurts like shit (limping around, can barely run).

This is my first time really taking hard leg kicks (only been doing muay thai for 3 months) so my legs aren't really conditioned, but is it normal for the thigh to be this sore almost a week later?

yeah, it can be but you get used to it. also, I know it wasn't sparring but as you get better, you'll also take less damage from getting better defensively.

shouldn't be going hard in partner drills...especially without shinguards.

especially with guys like this lol...hopefully you're not in Africa. then again, I'm sure they take leg kicks better than I do:

Yeah, it sucks but you'll eventually start getting used to it. It's an essential part of conditioning, just the nature of the beast really.

Train the quads bruh. It'll help but nothing beats conditioning and getting used to the pain & fatigue.

Yeah I remember when I first started training even drills with shin pads would debilitate my lead leg.

Couple years later I prefer not wearing shin pads during drills or sparring because my legs are more conditioned and you develop bad habits wearing them, imo.

Dude I almost posted something like this on Saturday. We were just doing takedown drills at Jits and we were throwing punches and kicks at the guy coming in for takedowns at like 30%-50% and one of my leg kicks got checked and HOLY SHIT did it hurt. I thought about sitting down immediately lol. I finished training and everything but I was thinking "So THIS is what everyone keeps talking about when they say how bad this hurts!"
And I consider myself pretty damn stoic.