One Handed Combos

wallysparx

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
What's your take on one handed combos, and how often do you use them?

I'm a lefty who works orthodox, so I love throwing a double jab, changing the angle with a long range lead uppercut, then going back to the jab.

I've been trying to work on throwing the left hook immediately after the jab. It works well on someone with poor footwork if I'm jabbing and circling right, then putting the hook right in the gut. But normally the body mechanics just feel so much smoother if I throw the left hook off of a right cross, even if my cross is my weakest weapon.

The double jab is all I use. I'd be afraid to throw that hook because the pivot would be hard to make. Then again I'm still a novice...

The double jab is all I use. I'd be afraid to throw that hook because the pivot would be hard to make. Then again I'm still a novice...

It's not.

I was actually going to post "jab jab, left hook"

The combination i rarely see anyone use is right hook to the body, right hook to the head.

I like the jab, left hook combo. It works pretty well if I've been landing my jab effectively though I use it pretty sparingly.

I'm must faster/stronger with my left side so I do a lot of left hand combos. one of my faves is jab, left uppercut, left hook. You need some quickness to pull it off though

being that i usually have a reach advantage i do throw allot of combos of the lead hand.

Favorites.

Outside at range:

1,1 or 1,1,1 low and high

1 body, 3 head (pivot off the 1 then throw the 3)

1, lead UC (my personal favorite, great for taller guys, step in and throw the 1 short, then pop a quick lead UC off the opponents parry, straight 2 down the pipe)

In the pocket or inside:

1,3,3 (jab, double up lead hook, low then high or vice versa, 1st one is usually set up, then really turn into the second)