"Old" newb needs help

JustJoe

White Belt
Reaction score
OK. Just would like a little help here. Ive been doing Starrs 5x5 for about 5 months... fairly by the book...mostly consistant. 2 or 3 times ive taken 1-2 weeks off to "reset" this ole body of mine. Ive made slow but steady gains...but not what i would like to see, really. Im looking for advice on weather or not to continue the 5x5, switch routines, or just go throw myself into the nearest city bus. My goals are simple:

-increase my strength to that elusive spot where "im STRONG" (i really dont know, but a twice bodyweight in squats and deads seems a good first mark)

- i need to be FIT.....and the bloody cardio machines bore me to tears PLUS ive got awful knees....BUT...i still do the elliptical a few times a week (am i bitching?)

- flexibility is important to me, as is all around athleticism.

- strong, happy, healthy, flexible. that about sums it up. oh yeah, how about wealthy?

Anyways....tohse are my goals in a nutshell. Just a little background and ill sut up.

- 37 years old -knees hurt!!
- first time lifting since i was a teen
- abused the livin shit out of my body for years...so this is kind of a mission for me to survive!
- ive read all through the FAQ's and all kinds of stuff here and elsewhere...and i still feel kinda ignorant!
- i work hard in the gym but have no partner
- im committed (or at least should be)
- i have about an hour per day, 4-6 days per week to workout
- i get bored quickly!

OK....im sorry ive rambled on a bit...but im just tryin to be thorough here!
Thank you so much....all help is both appreciated and needed!

Hi Joe -- Welcome to S&P. I don't know enough about Starr's 5x5 to tell you whether to stick with it, but I'm quite a bit older than you (46) so I can throw out a few thoughts that might help.

Be patient. If you're enjoying yourself and making gains, that's what counts.