"off" nights in the gym...what's the deal?

Ths808IsCatchy

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
just got done training and, man, do I feel like shit

not physically, but mentally

we've all had nights in the gym where we feel like we've never trained before...or is this just something that happens to me? I've been training for over six years now and it really gets me down when I have an off night like tonight

it makes me wonder "is this all the better I am? do I just get lucky on the nights I feel world class or am I just prone to inconsistency?"

there is some serious shit going on in my life right now and I have a fight coming up so I'm kinda stressed out at the moment...It's not my intention to write a diary on sherdog; I'm including this information to see if anyone else can relate to what I'm going through and perhaps offer some advice/encouragement

thanks for any input

edit: got some very insightful and encouraging responses on here...thanks everyone for your contributions

Last edited:
One thing I tell my fighters is not to be a perfectionist. Perfectionists are weak. The second a detail is beyond their control they cannot function. Pursue perfection, but understand that it's supposed to be virtually unattainable. If you put in honest work (regardless of if you felt like shit or not) then it's still good work. Let it go and move on.
Also, do whatever you gotta do to subdue the effects of life's bullshit.