Now I gots an IBJJF question (Hillary pls halp)

Dean Lewis

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
Seeing as these two moves are things that I tend to do, I'd like to know the legality of them. I'll let the video speak for itself, as I explain my question pretty thoroughly in it and it would be redundant to write it all out here. (I am attempting to embed, if someone would like to do so go ahead and do it since I'm not positive if I'm doing it right)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYI3VjEDqGo&feature=youtu.be

I'm not an expert but I'd say you might get into trouble for the first one.

The second situation I don't see a problem.

I only clicked the link because you said "halp" instead of help. Making me do work and shit.

First one is illegal once the foot crosses the hip/thigh. I like to pull that foot back and push on/hook the thigh or back of the knee there--from that position I run zero risk of getting DQed.

Second one is fine.

*edited

Last edited:
Damnit now Jake has me second guessing myself. I'm pretty sure my answer is right, but I sent the video to some of the head refs and I'll wait for response.

Thanks Hillary, that explanation helps a lot to avoid the possible DQ scenario. As far as phrasing the question, I knew "halp" would get more interest. Call me a businessman, I suppose.

Thanks for sending the video around, I'd be glad to get a definitive answer on both of these.

Is it actually reaping though?

I'm starting to second guess as well.

It's like a reverse reap

Is it actually reaping though?

I'm starting to second guess as well.

It's like a reverse reap

That's so meta

But yes, this is essentially my concern. The action is somewhat similar, but in reality you have much less ability to continue reaping the leg, unlike the classic "reaping" position where you have a better angle to force your opponent to turn and torque the knee...

For your next video tell the cameraman not to chew gum :D