Novice Strongman contest in NC, Sept 25

Tamaon

White Belt
Reaction score
This is the perfect strongman contest for beginners. The Strongest Man at the Y will be held Sept 25, 2010 at the Salisbury, NC YMCA. Events:

-short bus pull
-Atlas stones (180lb, 235, 250)
-tire flip (600lb tire)- if you can DL 225lb then you can turn this tire over!
-farmer's walk (about 120lb per hand)
-Fingal Fingers

Weight classes:

under 175
176-210
211-250
251 & up

Entry fee is $25. I've done this contest before, it's well run and a good time. For more info contact Kenny Seagle at (704) 636 0111 ext 223, email [email protected]

Salisbury, NC YMCA YMCA of Rowan County
828 Jake Alexander Blvd West
Salisbury, NC 28144

Media coverage from last year:

Strong man competition | Salisbury, NC - Salisbury Post

Participants cheer each other on at Strongest Man at the Y event | Salisbury, NC - Salisbury Post

This strongman contest is designed with the absolute beginner in mind, you don't need any experience with the events!

Tosa are you going? Sounds perfect.

Salisbury to Edmonton is quite a haul. I'm guessing no.

Tosa are you going? Sounds perfect.

Guys, this is the perfect contest for anyone who wants to get into strongman. Almost all of the NAS events are too heavy for beginners, this contest bridges that gap.

This almost seems too easy. I would have an issue with the stones though.

This almost seems too easy. I would have an issue with the stones though.

The contest is designed for guys who train the basic lifts regularly, but have no experience with strongman. Last time everyone got at least the 180lb stone, tacky is allowed. Why don't you come and compete, you'll have a great time and meet some interesting people.

Damn wish I was in Carolina right now.

I wish they had something like this for me in Vegas. I'm sure they have but I wouldn't even know where to read about it :-/