Not getting the basic subs..

Calc

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey,
I've been training for about six months.
Lately I have noticed that when I tap someone out, it's usually from some wierd angle during a wierd ass transition. Is this perhaps because my positioning isn't good enough? I feel that the submissions I pull of are somewhat high risk, and ofcourse I want to eliminate some of the risk.

Is this something that is normal for people with limited experience?

Yes, armbars used to feel next to impossible for me to get, but once I realized its about control rather than speed, I started finishing them more often. Position before Submission.

Give it time. Your submissions are going to suck for a while. The little minute details MATTER a lot! If you don't have the details down, you're submissions are going to be sloppy.

Would it help to drill the submissions to death, or should I just keep trying to do them while rolling?

Thanks

The basic subs are harder to get at the beginning because everyone is better at defending them then you are at applying them. Keep going for them though and try not to compensate by using gimmicky moves, build the basics for now. There are places for gimmicky moves that natural fall into your transitions later. For example, if you play a lot of omoplatas the gogoplata may come in as a natural transition.

drill them man. not static drills all the time but dynamic armbar drills and go for subs u want to have down while rolling. at one point we all had that sub we could never get. keep goin for it and focus on technique and u'll get it. drill drill drill

What I get the most is the armbar from some kind of rubberguard, armbar by rolling when people are in a turtle position etc. I also often pull of a triangle, but almost everytime I go for it there is a big chance I'll get passed.

I try to work on my basics while rolling, but it's not always that easy since the other guy tries to do stuff too :)