Noobie Needing Help on Weekly Routine

Norcalbowhunter

White Belt
Reaction score
Okay so I am new to this whole MMA thing so I am taking a random shot in the dark here but I hope I hit somewhere near the mark on this one. This is my weekly workout hoping to condition that I have came up with. My goals are to build a better body, tone my body, condition myself and get in shape enough to fight in a MMA match.

Monday, Wednesday and Friday will consist of running in the morning for 4 miles. After a bit of a rest I will lift weights.

Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday will consist of running in the morning for 4 miles. Then after resting I will do a circuit and quickly move over to doing a workout on the heavy bag.

I beg of you guys to tear this apart. Let me know how I can improve this, what I am doing wrong, what I need to be doing and so on. Remember I am new to this, before I just lifted weights and ran. Now how ever I wish to condition myself to fight and I hope this is not to far off of that goal.

This is my weight lifting routine

Upper Body

Chest

Barbell Bench Press 12 reps 100 pounds
Barbell Bench Press 10 reps 120 pounds
Barbell Bench Press 8 reps 140 pounds
Barbell Bench Press 6 reps 160 pounds
Barbell Bench Press 12 reps 100 pounds
Dumbbell Flyes 12 reps at 50 pounds

Shoulders

Seated Dumbbell Press 12 reps at 20 pounds
Seated Dumbbell Press 10 reps at 25 pounds
Seated Dumbbell Press 8 reps at 30 pounds
Seated Dumbbell Press 6 reps at 35 pounds
Seated Dumbbell Press 12 reps at 20 pounds
Military Press Press 12 reps at 30 pounds

Back

Reverse Grip Pull down 12 reps at 100 pounds
Reverse Grip Pull down 10 reps at 140 pounds
Reverse Grip Pull down 8 reps at 180 pounds
Reverse Grip Pull down 6 reps at 200 pounds
Reverse Grip Pull down 12 reps at 100 pounds
One Arm Dumbbell Row 12 reps at 70 pounds

Triceps

Dumbbell Extensions 12 reps at 30 pounds
Dumbbell Extensions 10 reps at 35 pounds
Dumbbell Extensions 8 reps at 40 pounds