Newbie question: How to avoid shelling up?

Mike32110

White Belt
Reaction score
I know I'm going to get flammed for being a pussy, but whatever. I'm new to MT, been doing BJJ for a while. I have recently began sparring and quickly realized that when I was facing a larger/more experienced opponent, I would become very intimidated when they were throwing big combos at me. It seems my instinct is to totally shell up, to the point that I'm not looking at my opponent, and I end up just taking damage and not doing anything.

Did anyone else have this problem? I notice when fighting smaller opponents, or people that are new like me, I don't run into that problem nearly as much. Do you guys have any advice? Is this normal for a rookie? I'd ask people at my club, but I'd rather get called a pussy by people online than in real life haha.

Get a partner, and put your back to the wall so you can not turn away. And have your partner throw punches and combos at you. Start out slow, and increase as you get more comfortable. I seen this on a bas rutten training video along time ago, and it really works well. It will also help your movement because you have to do it in that position, or they are just going to throw combo after combo.

Also work on your footwork, when they come in for those big combos try to circle out. Not straight back, work on head movement, and slipping punches....shit your in MT might not want to slip them like a boxer i guess, however you do it, do it. Just keep training, and after you get used to it, it is not such a difficult thing to control.

Get a partner, and put your back to the wall so you can not turn away. And have your partner throw punches and combos at you. Start out slow, and increase as you get more comfortable. I seen this on a bas rutten training video along time ago, and it really works well. It will also help your movement because you have to do it in that position, or they are just going to throw combo after combo.