Newbie endurance

Guerrillastyle

White Belt
Reaction score
Wutsup all, I am new to bjj and noticed that one of thr most limiting factors for me when rolling is my endurance. I am big, I am 6'1 and 320lbs...fairly athletic but have always trained in dynamic short bursts/big strength sport specific lifting and events. My strength is obviously my strength as I usually do not get tapped by white, blue, and some purple belts but I feel that I can do so much more if I had better endurance. Any suggestions? How long did take you guys that had the same problem to get going? I am lifting circuit style about 3 days per week now and continue muay Thai 1-3 days per week as well. I have also cleaned up my diet. Thanks

you can look for conditionning work out on the website cross fit.

However, to get BJJ fit, you just need to roll more.

but I feel that I can do so much more if I had better endurance. Any suggestions?

Roy Dean's blue belt requirements discusses the importance of fuel economy vs gas tank. At first you don't know what's a threat, so you're tense/explosive all the time. Eventually you learn the points where you need to relax and the points where you need to be explosive.

You're endurance sucks because you are massively overweight.

Interval Runs for time, and Crossfit/P90x helped me.

There was a cross country kid in my old dojo, he killed every one on cardio.

double post.... almost tripple... ohhhhh... WHAT DOES IT MEANN?????

I have tried a lot of different cardio workouts and the only thing that helped with how long I could roll, is rolling.

Start running as far and as long as your body will let you and lose a hundred pounds.

for me i find rolling more and running supplement each other well and i find my endurance in both increasing noticeably.