New to MMA, looking for advice.

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by KID GRANDEUR, Sep 8, 2010.

1. KID GRANDEUR

KID GRANDEUR White Belt

Hey everybody first id like to introduce myself, I'm 21 years old and I have no MMA experience. The only USD training I have I recieved in Basic Training and in Military Police School in the US Army. I recently started training at a gym near my home but this is all new to me. I was always passionate about boxing but recently I wanted to get more into MMA. I'm in decent shape; 6'2, 200 lbs. I play quarterback for a semi-pro football team in Pennsylvania, and play forward in basketball.

That being said, I'm looking for tips in all departments. Good cardio workouts, what food to eat, what equipment I'll need, etc. Please give me the guidance you guys have to offer. I'm excited to get a chance to learn from some educated people.

2. Tosa

Tosa Red Belt

Start by reading the Strength and conditioning FAQs, and the D&S FAQ. Then ask any questions you still have.

3. PhoneixJesus

PhoneixJesus Green Belt

Keep your hands up, chin down and avoid getting hit.

Last edited: Sep 8, 2010
  4. paolo27th

paolo27th Black Belt

So the gym you joined is an MMA gym?

5. mrsneakyz28

mrsneakyz28 Green Belt

Sigh...I think you should learn Muay Thai and BJJ or Wrestling separately and compete separately for some time, then put it all together in mma. I don't like the whole train "mma" idea. It might be good for a few amateur fights but you will hit a road block eventually.

6. KID GRANDEUR

KID GRANDEUR White Belt

Yeah it's an MMA gym. Eventually I'd want to compete but right now I'm more into learning the skills and basics of different types of martial arts. Right now my attention is in BJJ.

7. Mickey Oneil

Mickey Oneil Orange Belt

+1.

8. MASShole

MASShole Get it?

Agreed.

9. MusclesMarinara

MusclesMarinara Friends with Bigfoot