New guy looking to buy a gi.

Charlatan

Orange Belt
@Orange
Reaction score
I found this one online. Does anyone have it?

Jiu-Jitsu / Judo Single Weave gi

I am brand new to BJJ and want to purchase a gi. So far this is the cheapest one I found (price wise). Does it look like a rip-off? Should I be looking elsewhere? Thanks!

With a gi,as with most things in life, you get what you pay for, and quality is not cheap. the last thing one should skimp on is a gi.

I have a Gameness Platinum Gi very nice, i like it a lot....i also have a Gi simular to the one on that website , you will find the sleeves are very big(easy to get a grip on) and the collar is very thin.

Atami, Koral, Vulcan are all good. You don't want your gi ripping during practice or a tourney. One time in class a guy got his left pant leg ripped in half mid-thigh. Half his balls were hanging out. It was like a bad Hulk impersonation. Not a good look.

I always recommend Padilla & Sons.

First came across them via this very convincing review over on the Smash Pass blog. Ordered my white gold weave shortly afterwards, and been very happy with it so far. Most comfortable of the three gis I have (cycle between a Padilla, cheap Blitz judo one and the Katama - not Atama - I got when I signed up at RGA), not overly doused in patches, thin and light but still strong (not noticed any wear so far, having bought mine in August 07), good fit after one hot wash and spin dry.

Perhaps most importantly, despite the good quality (Smash Pass, backing everything up with pictures, rates it as on the same level as Atama and Koral, if not better), its cheap. $80 in the US, and cost me less than

One more question:

I am 5'9'' an 165lbs. Should I get an A2 or an A3? I ask because I am basically the exact middle of the two sizes. Thanks.

i would say get the larger since it should shrink a bit, but ive only bought one gi so far, so take that with a grain of salt

One more question: