Need to decide on a gym in chicago

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by cky2kk, Jul 1, 2010.

1. cky2kk

cky2kk White Belt

So I've been looking at several gyms where I live in Chicago and the clostest ones were victory martial arts academy @ Forest Park -1401 Circle Ave Forest Park and Gracie Barra Chicago @ 4900 North Lincoln Avenue. Now I saw a lot of vids but couldnt find any of how the gym at victory looks like tho i heard it has an MMA cage. If anyone who knows could share any info with me give reviews and prices I would appreciate it. Im 18 yrs old and my dream is to one day fight in UFC i know it wont be easy I have some fighting experience but I need advice on which gym would be better. Thanks

2. jericksen5

jericksen5 Black Belt

Ive heard great things about New Breed in Skokie. Valko is also supposed to be top notch.

3. curb1850

curb1850 Green Belt

Gracie Barra is generally a solid choice.

4. Corey Kuropas

Corey Kuropas Banned Banned

Carlson's, New Breed, and Valko are all good.

5. MagicWand

MagicWand Purple Belt

what he said. both parts.

6. ijustwannasurf

ijustwannasurf Brown Belt

Only been there once, but New Breed was one of my favorite out-of-town gym experiences.

7. KahleyTriangles

KahleyTriangles Blue Belt

Hey Cky2kk, I train at the Gracie Barra Chicago and its a great place to train. We have Muay Thai on Mondays and Saturdays, no gi Wednesdays and Friday, and Gi, every day except Sunday.

My best recommendation to you is to definitely just come check the place out, get a feel for how things are run, see how classes are, how the people are, plus it gives you a chance to ask the questions you might have. Chicago is blessed to have several great schools as mentioned above such as New Breed, Carlson, and Valko, so definitely check them out to make an informed decision!

Either way, good luck to you, and welcome to the BJJ community!

8. cky2kk

cky2kk White Belt