Need help solving CPU issue

Discussion in 'Mayberry Lounge' started by Burning Hammer, Aug 28, 2015.

  1. Burning Hammer

    Burning Hammer Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    I was using a private window (unintentionally since it wasn't teh pron) and I was reading an article about cars. Well, I went to CMD: ipconfig/displaydns and it just kees repopulating it with spyware/adware sites but I checked and I don't have them. So I am totally confused at why that would be happening. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Gandzooka

    Gandzooka Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    5,276
    [​IMG]

    None of that makes any sense.

    1. Why did you suddenly decide to run: ipconfig /displaydns ?

    2. ipconfig /displaydns shows the cache of addresses DNS (domain name system) has been asked to resolve.

    3. DNS resolves name of a website, like sherdog.com, to an ip-address, it has nothing to directly do with spyware and adware. If there is suspicious stuff in cache, then your system has at some point probably tried to connect to one of those. Most likely when you've visited website that has ads on it.

    4. How is this related to CPU?
     
  3. Burning Hammer

    Burning Hammer Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    You're right, and it's not spyware or adware its just weird website names constantly repopulating over and over. One is kecudoraq.cn, getalltogo.com, clickpotato.tv, ebway.it aivira.de etc

    I'm really confused as to why the laptop is showing seemingly unused web domains I've never used. Seems suspicious and I am thinking something might be wrong with it.

    I used CPU in general, like computer issue.

    Edit: Clear history and still happens. This is so weird.

    I also used it to check the domain name of the site for the article I was reading. So I don't get why you're so confused.

    Edit 2: It eventually stops but each time I still get these weird domains. If I do it on another PC it just populates them quickly and is done with it.
     
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2015
  4. Doughbelly

    Doughbelly αlpha-nerdette, action scientist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,755
    Likes Received:
    5,614
    Location:
    2nd Star to the Right & straight on til morning.
    Well, as it turns out, words mean things.

    When you use words to mean things that mean other things, people who used these words to mean these things get confused because you're using these words to mean those things.
     
  5. BigBoyPeterson

    BigBoyPeterson White Belt

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2013
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    Relax bro.
     
  6. Iroh

    Iroh The Dragon of the West Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    35,225
    Likes Received:
    27,369
    Location:
    Spirit World
    People think it's much more convenient to use words for arbitrary meanings though. Can't we all just make up stuff what we want people to mean when they use words and answer questions in a manner we feel like regardless of how the question is worded or meant? That way it doesn't matter if people use words in questions in the manner the weren't meant to be used.
     
  7. BroITrainUFC

    BroITrainUFC Orange Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Touch it with teh jab
     
  8. MortalWombat

    MortalWombat Vombatus Sherdoggus

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,249
    Likes Received:
    235
    Location:
    Australia
    Have you tried turning it off and on again?
     
  9. osudude

    osudude Red Belt

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,661
    Likes Received:
    1,118
    Location:
    Queen City
    Spray it with water.
     
  10. Doughbelly

    Doughbelly αlpha-nerdette, action scientist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,755
    Likes Received:
    5,614
    Location:
    2nd Star to the Right & straight on til morning.
    [​IMG]
     
  11. HARRISON_3

    HARRISON_3 Gold Belt

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    21,453
    Likes Received:
    34,758
    Location:
    Within Cells Interlinked
    Reported.
     
  12. Gandzooka

    Gandzooka Purple Belt

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    5,276
    As I said,those domains most likely host ads. When you visit, say, sherdog.com, you get shown different ads which are on their own server and not on sherdog.com.

    That's why your dns cache is full of those addresses since browser needs their ip-addresses to download and show them to you. This happens almost on every website you visit so that's why there is large number of them.

    If you suspect malware, run antivirus software etc.
     
  13. Hez

    Hez Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    821
    Location:
    So Flo
    Computer Noob detected
     
  14. SherdogGoat

    SherdogGoat Platinum & Braco Belt Banned

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    20,544
    Likes Received:
    24,919
    Location:
    Platinum Nation
    I love it when chicks suck my CPU
     
  15. Burning Hammer

    Burning Hammer Banned Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2015
    Messages:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    3,048
    Which I have, I just know that the computer I use mainly doesn't do that and no computer I've used before does either. So I found this to be an isolated incident. I haven't found anything online either so I decided to ask.
     
  16. Bebop

    Bebop Brown Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,466
    Likes Received:
    608
    lol @ cpu. you're screwed
     
  17. SCADA

    SCADA Guest

    Haha...I was going to say the same ting.
     
  18. Winnie The Foo

    Winnie The Foo Green Belt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    378
    Location:
    San Diego, CA! ALL DAY!
    This does work. But you have to do it constantly , for like a week. Saved myself $600 because I was able to recover my NIC card settings with a /dnsflush.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.