Need advice (trying to rank up)

ro1em0de1

Yurple Belt
Reaction score
ok heres my dilemma, ive been grappling for goin on 7 years now(3 yrs hs wrestling, 2 yrs at team quest, 1 year independent, and a year training/teaching sub grappling at xtreme couture) however ive only been training in the gi (independently) for just over a year.

ive competed in about 8 gi tournaments since feb. 2007(6 in the the white belt division, and 2 recently in the blue belt division) and done well in all of the tournys. now heres my problem i dont currently train under a black belt or even a blue belt for that matter and i badly would like to obtain a ranking without just giving it to myself like the other instructors told me to do. now im a guy who works 40+ hrs a week and teach 3 days out of the week leaving me no time to find another gym with a black belt to train under.

so i guess my question for you guys is...is there any way to obtain rank without being a member of a school like thru seminars or anything of that sort?

it sucks teaching a class about jiujitsu while technically only having the rank of a white belt, shit even a couple of stripes would suffice...

........ it's not the same as training under a BB no.

what is the point of doing it through seminars and shit if you just going to answer to anyone who asks where you got belted 'oh, through these VHS tapes and seminars I attended!'

they will laugh.

make time for it, or get over it. You're already a great grappler obviously, it's just a belt. If the belt means that much, you'll find time to go to a school.

~Foz

If you've never trained under anyone who held even a blue belt in BJJ, then your skills probably aren't really from the BJJ lineage. That means that you really wouldn't have any BJJ rank.