1. The official Sherdog Store is back! Check it out! » Discuss it here! »

Neck bridges, Yay or Nay?

Discussion in 'Strength & Conditioning Discussion' started by RR010V, Jan 13, 2020.

1. RR010V Orange Belt

I've heard alot about people saying that they're bad for your neck and can cause serious damage in the long run. I've been doing neck bridges for about 3 years with no issues. (atleast so far)

I also supplement this with other neck exercises. Some wrestlers at my gym recommend doing them. Also alot of boxers (e.g. Mike Tyson) use neck bridges to strengthen the neck.

After watching some videos on youtube and reading about it online I'm not sure if I should continue doing neck bridges or if other exercises are more efficient and/or safe.

What do you guys think? And are there any guys out here who actually got some kind of chronic pain and injury because of them?

2. MilkManUK Brown Belt

I do them, never had a problem.

3. wufabufa Silver Belt

Neck bridges can be pretty intense when you first start doing them so isometrics, manual resistance, or a neck harness might be a good idea before you jump right into them, especially if you're a heavier guy. I've done them in the past when I was training BJJ and I felt they helped quite a bit. Never had any injury or pain from them but everyone is different.

Some say squatting wrecks your knees or that deadlifting will destroy your back. Some of those same people also spent years doing those exercises with shit form or too much frequency/intensity. Gotta be smart about your training and listen to your body.

4. ShadowNINku SANDBAGGER BELT

Do isometrics first if anything.
    The neck muscles are "meant" to be stabilizers not movers of heavy loads.

5. ImmigrantMentality Banned Banned