Nate Diaz on Playing Hardball with Dana White and Using Conor McGregor for Cash

Discussion in 'UFC Discussion' started by ReadWrite, Aug 7, 2016.

1. ReadWrite

ReadWrite Silver Belt Platinum Member

Diaz: Conor was ‘a shortcut' to the money I wanted

"This guy talks about all these fighters like they're f*cking dumb, and he's right, they're all f*cking dumb," Diaz said Friday on a UFC 202 conference call.

"I'm not one of those guys who sat around here f*cking taking contracts. I've been bitching about my contract for the last six years. I've been going through hell, so I knew I was going to get mine. When it was time to get mine, I was going to get what I was going to get regardless, and I had a plan to do it. It's not thanks to Conor that I got all of this, but I'm going to say that was a shortcut."

For Diaz, the path to the reimbursement of 2016 has been a long one.

The 31-year-old veteran spent a majority of the past three years on the sidelines, quarreling with the UFC over a contract that paid Diaz paltry disclosed figures for a veteran of his stature. However things finally changed last December, when Diaz upset Michael Johnson at UFC on FOX 17 and promptly called out McGregor with a profane rant on live national television.

The callout paid off, as Diaz scored the golden ticket -- and a new contract -- to face McGregor at UFC 196 following the injury dropout of Rafael dos Anjos. Diaz went on to infamously defeat McGregor via second-round rear-naked choke, setting up the Aug. 20 rematch at UFC 202, which takes place at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.

While Diaz is expected to receive another huge payday for his rematch against McGregor, he sees dramatic turnaround to his career as a result that was inevitable, one way or another.