My short term memory sucks too bad to train!?

Discussion in 'Muay Thai and Kickboxing' started by jag88, Aug 19, 2015.

1. jag88

jag88 White Belt

So this is half a question and half a frustrated rant. So I am new to martial arts in general, I did some karate when I was a kid but I was a little thing and I don't remember shit, so it really doesn't count. But Muay Thai has always been on the top of my list of "sports I really want to get into".

I used to weigh like 305 Lbs and I lost 150 Lbs and now I am in pretty decent shape and I wanted to put it to good use. So I joined a local boxing gym that has a Muay Thai class 3 nights a week.

The instructor is a super nice guy and he seems to know his shit and he is very patient with me, but the classes are pretty big (ranging from 10-25 people depending on who all shows up that night). So I only get a few moments of 1-1 instruction every night.

Most of the time we are just doing different pad drills or evasion drills etc. I haven't got to the point where I can spar yet, still got a ways to go.

During the drills he always comes up with the combo he wants us to practice... its not like it's this set numbered combo like "yea tonight guys were practicing the #13 combo!". He just makes them up on the spot, then demonstrates them to the class with one of the more advanced students... he will demonstrate it usually 3 times before he pairs us off and lets us practice (then he walks around to each pair and gives pointers).

Heres the problem though... the combos are always so long damn long it is impossible for me to remember them, he could show me 20 damn times and I still wouldn't remember the order. Its like jab, jab, cross, jab, L hook, R hook, jab, cross, rear round house kick, R straight kick, jab, jab, R upper cut, R uppercut, front round house kick, L straight kick, jab, jab or some ridiculously long and complicated combo like that. And I can NEVER remember it, ever.