My own round kick - looking for some pointers (with video)

De4dEyE

White Belt
Reaction score
Quick background, I have been taking formal training [though the place I go to is less traditional than to my liking] so I have gotten some pointers here and there. Currently I am in-between gyms and so during this period I'm attempting to keep up with practicing on my own until I locate another one.

The quality isn't exactly the best, but hopefully some of you guys can give me some advice in what I'm doing wrong/could do better.

Also note, the metal piece that attaches the heavy bag to the hook literally broke off during this video, coincidentally when I finally decide to have it recorded. :icon_sad:

Anyway, I'm attempting to do a round kick at a 45 degree angle, to hit the floating ribs.

Edit: Uh, don't know how to correctly link the video here... I'll just paste the link.

http://youtu.be/ERw2VNIus_g

Any criticism is appreciated, since I'm still an amateur and would like to learn. Let me know if my hands are off, the twist at the end is bad, I'm chambering... etc. Thanks.

For starters, when you make contact with the target the heal of the post foot should be facing the target. This will open the hips. On your left round kick your right thumb goes in your left ear and your left thumb goes in your butt (not literally). This will snap your shoulders in the opposite direction of your kick for power. Your right hand looks to be flying up in the air. Also I don't hear your breath. You need to tighten your stomach and grunt, growl or yell more to get your breath out. You're too quiet when you kick.

Last edited:
For starters, when you make contact with the target the heal of the post foot should be facing the target.

I was always taught to never do this.

try to find one thai that does what you are implying...maybe it is a kung fu thing?

try to find one thai that does what you are implying...maybe it is a kung fu thing?