My first competition, help?????

maori rule all

Blue Belt
Reaction score
hey everyone I'm entering my first powerlifting competition on April 18th, well it's only a Deadlift comp.

I'll be going in at 75 kg and in the under 16 category. I only went to a gym for the 1st time yesterday and the man said he's wanting me to pull 180 kg. I've never done a 1RM before but I pulled 160 kg yesterday in his gym which was quite hard but I could have grinded out a bit more, but he said to only burst a blood vessel on the day of the comp lol.

what should I expect, I've never competed before at all and is 180 kg possible by 19th April or is it adventurous?

Cheers in advance. long live S&P

It's surely possible if you have pulled 160 already. Just don't wreck yourself.

yesssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss, soz bro lol. Just i'm pumped as hell already.

If you can do 140x6 you should be able to do it already. For 75kg weight class, that seems like a kind of small target, though. You should try training deadlift and PRing for real to see where you stand.

Do as much deadlifting and posterior chain work as you can in the time you have left. About two weeks out from the meet, stop deadlifting, pull what you plan to open with a week out from the contest.

Opener-Standard rule is something you can triple.

It's very common for people to hit all time PR's on the DL in competition, as opposed to the other two where often times gym lifts trump competition bests. The deadlift benefits most from being extremely aroused, and a meet will do that to you.

Open with something easy to get on the board, shoot for a reasonable PR for your second, and really on the third, you may as well aim for the stars if you hit your 2nd attempt. You never know, and you've already got the lift you wanted, so go for broke on your third.