Muay thai zero to hero(with a little luck)

Catweiser

Yellow Belt
@Yellow
Reaction score
Figured Id benefit from a log, motivational psych says its good to state goals and keep on your own progress- here goes.

Starting point:

25 year old muay thai newb- my cheap rental apartment is getting bulldozed in 5-6 months. Its an opportunity to store my stuff, take some time off school, and go to thailand to train for a few months. Dont care that I'll be travelling as a newb I've checked it out and it seems like a dec idea. If you were gonna post that this is a bad idea save your time and gtfo my diary :)

GPP- Cardio is OK(not amazing) due to 2-3x weekly low impact eliptical HIIT workouts. Core is weak as fuck, prolly some muscle imbalances due to my job as a tradesman. Overall not super strong.

Back- Spondylosis L5. Better when Im regularly active but can flare up and be a real bitch sometimes. Quit BJJ after 6 months because of this. that was 1.5 years ago. My main obstacle.

Knee annoyance- hurt 3 weeks ago, intermittent pain nothing serious.

Goals: Get my body ready for some intensive, hard muay thai training in Thailand.

Train muay thai 2 times a week, leading up to 3-5x a week BODY WILLING. Dont push too hard at the beginning and get injured, let my body acclimate to training so I can do it all day in 5-6 months time.

Obstacles/Solutions

Back: Regular physio exercises(shoot for every day which is partly why I wanna keep this log to keep on myself.

Time- Tradesman, student, athletic aspirations, friends + family.

Solutions: less time with friends and family :)

Are you the guy that started that thread about how to get ready to go train in Thailand?

Good luck, mang :D

Thats me- that was a solid thread I got some damn good info there on these here internets.

I took the advice to heart- just focusing on muay thai conditioning as folks suggested.

9/18/13

Decent class- back is a bit rocked after work etc...

9/20/13-9/24/13