Muay thai or Boxing

Grappler20016

White Belt
@White
Reaction score
I have been wrestling for 2 years now 5 times a day I would like to get in MMA later in life and I'm looking to pick up a striking art. I would either go for boxing or Muay thai because that's the 2 gyms I visited and really liked.

I know for MMA I should train in a mma gym ,but I know absolutely nothing about striking and I would rather have some understanding of it before I get into MMA. What would benefit me more Muay thai or boxing?

Muay Thai has bad boxing, and boxing has no muay thai kicks.

Go figure!

Well, wrestleboxing seems to be a popular style in MMA and seems to go together well. I guess if you happened to be a wrestler that wasn't afraid of fighting off his back, wrestling and MT would be interesting to see.

I'm a boxing fan and prefer kickboxers, MT fighters and MMa fighters who use their hands. But you oibviously need to be aware that you will need to train MT or at least "MMA standup" where elbows, kciks and knees are allowed because thats what MMa is.

If you do boxing then it's additionally it isnt UFC 1 and you will train MT (in it's widest meaning: kicks, elbows knees, punches) at any rate.

If you do boxing then it surely can help, how much depends on your style and how comfortable you are with using your hands and with kicking, kneeing and elbowing and it can maybe give you a base but it's additionally.

If it's just one thing you wanna do then it's obviously MT because you need all those things but if you have the patience and want to do it then you can obviously go for boxing first and do full rules afterwards.

if you go to a MMA gym afterwards then you will do "MT" (or even really MT) there. If you wanna have a broad base do MT now and you could still have good hands for MT or you box and you will be most likely better with your hands but need to learn kciks, elbows and knees from scratch at the MMa gym