muay Thai leg kicks proper technique

Knive

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been practicing MT for 3 months now. But recently I've noticed that some in my class especially the more experienced MT fighters have been telling me to swing my arm forward instead of backward when I kick. Currently when I kick I send whatever leg I'm kicking with that arm goes backward which I feel gives me more power in my kick, also my opposite arm goes up to protect my face. So I feel that my face is adequately protected while I get power on my kicks. I don't want to disrespect my fellow mates who have been training longer than I have and have more experience than me, but I've seen many videos where fighters are doing the same thing that I am. My instructor has also not corrected me. I'm kind of confused.

I've been practicing MT for 3 months now. But recently I've noticed that some in my class especially the more experienced MT fighters have been telling me to swing my arm forward instead of backward when I kick. Currently when I kick I send whatever leg I'm kicking with that arm goes backward which I feel gives me more power in my kick, also my opposite arm goes up to protect my face. So I feel that my face is adequately protected while I get power on my kicks. I don't want to disrespect my fellow mates who have been training longer than I have and have more experience than me, but I've seen many videos where fighters are doing the same thing that I am. My instructor has also not corrected me. I'm kind of confused.

i do it both ways, but i don't so much swing the arm forward, i just leave it up to protect my face. i've always been taught that neither is really wrong.

I've been shown both and I prefer swinging the arm backwards, I feel I get more power with it. Just go with your trainers advice, he'll correct you if you're doing something wrong.