Muay Thai fighters who "just stand there"

Discussion in 'Muay Thai and Kickboxing' started by Cocakillbana, Jul 28, 2016.

1. Cocakillbana

Cocakillbana Black Belt

I'd appreciate it if you guys can post examples of prominent competitors who fight this way.

What are the flaws in the norms of Muay Thai with regard to movement? It's a widely held belief that Muay Thai fighters don't know how to move and it's such a terrible thing. Why is this?

I'm looking for expert opinions.

2. Snubnoze707

Snubnoze707 High Level

Jake Sheilds

[​IMG]

Last edited: Jul 28, 2016
    Joe Buck likes this.
  3. StopDucking

StopDucking Ronda Rousey hater

There's a difference between just standing there and not knowing how to move. You can use minimal footwork and still being able to close the distance or move out of the way when needed.

See Jomhod Kiatadisak for instance:

AndyTran and Mongoosemk12 like this.
  4. Karaev fan

Karaev fan Brown Belt

I'm no expert, but I managed to find someone who is.

Neo-Striking - New School vs Old School Striking

5. Snubnoze707

Snubnoze707 High Level

Dude could y'all imagine Yodwicha with some Neo Footwork training?

SuperLuigi and anorak like this.
  6. Kanka

Kanka Black Belt

I hear Superlek is working on that in the science lab

SuperLuigi and anorak like this.
  7. ask

ask Blue Belt

coca is having a nervous breakdown

8. Bang Rachan

Bang Rachan Brown Belt

Tyrone Spong

9. Cocakillbana

Cocakillbana Black Belt