Muay Thai fighters who "just stand there"

Cocakillbana

Black Belt
@Black
Reaction score
I'd appreciate it if you guys can post examples of prominent competitors who fight this way.

What are the flaws in the norms of Muay Thai with regard to movement? It's a widely held belief that Muay Thai fighters don't know how to move and it's such a terrible thing. Why is this?

I'm looking for expert opinions.

Jake Sheilds

shields-new-site1.jpg

Last edited:
There's a difference between just standing there and not knowing how to move. You can use minimal footwork and still being able to close the distance or move out of the way when needed.

See Jomhod Kiatadisak for instance:

What are the flaws in the norms of Muay Thai with regard to movement? It's a widely held belief that Muay Thai fighters don't know how to move and it's such a terrible thing. Why is this?

I'm looking for expert opinions.

I'm no expert, but I managed to find someone who is.

Neo-Striking - New School vs Old School Striking

I've been looking at TJ Dillashaw, Dom Cruz and Conor McGregor fighting. They are the definition of unorthodox, utilizing different footwork, stance shifting, boxing-heavy striking, etc. New ideas... Yet, they are destroying classicaly-trained, dangerous fighters like Renan Barao and Jose Aldo who are skilled at traditional, long-proven Muay Thai... They're flat-footed and are overwhelmed by the new challenges these new foes bring to the table. Barao couldn't find a weak spot in Dillashaw's style even when he got a rematch...
This makes me wonder. Most successful gyms like Jackson's and Tristar follow the tried-and-true method of using classic boxing and muay thai as a striking base. However, fighters trained like this are but cannon fodder for these neo-strikers which are emerging across the lighter weight divisions...

Dude could y'all imagine Yodwicha with some Neo Footwork training?

I hear Superlek is working on that in the science lab