1. We now have a new forum called Fantasy Matchup Discussion. Access it here

Muay Thai competing in Knockdown with no Karate experience?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Boxer123, Jul 24, 2010.

1. Boxer123

Boxer123 Guest

Hey guys, the Dageki World Karate Championship is in Montreal at the end of October and i've been itching to fight in knockdown as it looks fun and i've never done it before. The problem is i've never actually trained in knockdown or any form of Karate (Kyokushin etc..) but I have been speaking with a sensei who trains Kyokushin Budokai/Kudo style fighting and was thinking of training with them for the experience in August.. that means I'll have about 2 months to get the feel for Karate and knockdown... would this be realistic for a MT guy? i've been training for 5 years in MT so I know how to fight, it's just adapting to the new style of fighting in such little time may not be feasible... (I have a 3-0 ammy kickboxing record so I have fought before).

Anyone have any experience in this or know anything about knockdown? would I even be allowed to fight? would I fight white belts? Thanks if there are any knockdown guys here!

"Osu" lol

2. Corey Kuropas

Corey Kuropas Banned Banned

I do not have experience in knockdown karate, but I say go and test yourself in the environment. If you did go in amateur Muay Thai and might be successful at the competition.

3. vorpal_

vorpal_ Blue Belt

if the rules aren't too weird i can't imagine you having a hard time

4. Human Bass

Human Bass Black Belt

Just be aware about knees and elbows being allowed or not.

5. 1Strike

1Strike Blue Belt

Be aware more than ever for head kicks even when you are very close to your opponent.
    They have very good, deceptive and fast head kicks.

Also it is gonna feel very akward to get into punching range and not be able to throw a jab,cross or hook to your opponents face.

Good luck and keep us posted.

6. Boxer123

Boxer123 Guest