Muay Thai and Boxing at the same time?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Knive, Jul 19, 2010.

1. Knive

Knive White Belt

I'm a newbie to MA and have been training in Muay Thai for the past month. I train at a respectable MMA gym and my membership allows me to train boxing also at no additional cost. I was thinking about starting to add boxing after I've had about three months Muay Thai experience so I wouldn't be confused. Is this a good idea? The boxing coach has trained UFC fighters but I'm training for recreation only.

2. Brooklyn

Brooklyn Green Belt

Some will probably say get more proficient in Thai Boxing first, but I say fuck it. If you really want to Box (especially for no additional cost), do that shit. The only real cost is time. If you are willing to invest some extra time into Boxing, why not?

3. juji gatame**

juji gatame** Brown Belt

Free boxing lessons to compliment your Muay Thai? Jump on that shit training both won't hinder your progress in one.

4. Boxer123

Boxer123 Guest

Well considering the only thing you can really knock thai boxers on is their lack of punching ability, why NOT supplement it with FREE boxing lessons.

5. jessew

jessew The Goods

Dude FREE ANYTHING is good I don't care what it is.

6. FyouKantCme

FyouKantCme Guest

the two best striking arts on the planet. why would you NOT train in them both?

7. BWC

BWC Purple Belt

Jump all over that in a heartbeat. I think the hands in pure MT are the weakest facet so getting some great boxing hands would make you a stud..

8. Staring At Fate

Staring At Fate Refuse To Lose.

I'm gonna start taking Muay Thai once a week in addition to boxing three times a week. Pick one your gonna dedicate yourself to tho.

9. Sizzerb

Sizzerb White Belt