Moving to Brazil on 05/06/2009

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gerbiljiujitsu

Purple Belt
@purple
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

Just as the title says I'm moving to Brazil for 6 month to train. I'm super excited but it's been a long road of getting everything put together. The passport, the visa, living arrangements, raising money and dealing with injuries.

Thankfully I had help from someone that I met on this forum and have everything planned out, it should be a very positive experience. I plan on training between 3 and 4 times a day and elevating my game as much as possible. I'm a seasoned purple belt but I am no longer affiliated with a BJJ school so it will be hard for me to advance in rank (I had a difference in opinion with my last instructor that resulted in me going to a non BJJ school).

Currently I train 10-15 times a week and I am a full time instructor for grappling and my ultimate goal is to compete in the Abu Dhabi. What I'm saying is....I'm going for it!

I'm going to keep this thread up and let everyone know how the training is going. I'll also try to use this as a tool to let people know how to make it happen for them if they want to go train in Brazil. Rioconnection was a great help (the guy that helped me on here) and can answer most of your questions. Anything I cant answer directly I'll find out the answer to and get back to you.

I'M PUMPED!
The Gerbil

Been there done that. Be careful. Buy some Brazilian clothes first thing.

Never carry a towel to the beach. Criminals will know you're a gringo. Don't over-train like I did because Its super hot there and the humidity will kill you. Whatever happens avoid getting injured and tap quick. Some brazilians are sick of Gringoes and will crank the hell out of subs even after you tap. Choose your training partners carefully.