Mounting from Side Control

thegreenblender

Brown Belt
@Brown
Reaction score
What is your favorite ways to do this? I've been doing no gi jiu-jitsu for a few years, so I've got the gist of it, I need some extra technique/tip to avoid a guy snagging my foot as I'm coming over.

i usually dont go straight from sidecontrol to mount. I usually go from side control to knee on belly for a couple of seconds, and then drop down to mount. Its a good sequence of moves to follow becuase normally when you have someone in side controll they are pretty much always trying to block you from moving directly to mount, by throwing the knee on belly transition in there i have found less people tend to block you from taking mount (and if they do block it you can just take side control again).

Am i making sense here?

I should note that i needed to practice my knee on belly control for a couple of weeks before i could get this sequence working with a high enough % to be useful.

I overhook the far leg, and thread it through and use the inside leg as leverage to bring his knees together like I'm trying to turn him on his face, pin the knee down with my elbow and swing my leg over.

Or underhook the far leg like a cradle and thread my far leg through

I'd only mount for points, or some times if the guy is much bigger/strong I use it to piss them off. favorite way would be my left arm (assuming I am side mounted on his right) under opponents head, right hand under his left arm gripping my other hand. My left shoulder would be pushing his face hard, just a detail I thought I'd add. after that, use my right elbow to turn and push his elbow up, and sneak my knee across his chest. Since I'm pretty flexible, my opponent having their foot on their knee to block usually doesn't do much to prevent me from getting the mount.

KOB is a great start. If you can get that, it's all downhill from there.