MMA Handwrapping vs. Boxing Handwrapping?

CHawkins

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Here's something that's new to me.

I recently bought a few pairs of compact MMA-style handwraps. You've probably seen them, they are narrower and shorter than boxing handwraps. The question is, should I wrap my hands differently for MMA training than for boxing?

For example, if I wrap the MMA wraps same way I've wrapped for boxing, I end up with my palm completely covered by material. This is not good for my grip.

However, I can't think of a way to wrap my hands so that they are supported as well as they are with a boxing-style wrap, while leaving my palm mostly uncovered. Is there a good way to do this? I've experimented with routing the between-finger wraps between my index finger and thumb to avoid covering the palm, but I'm not sure that's going to give me much support.

There is probably a really obvious answer to this, but I'm new to training MMA so try to be gentle with me. :D

edit: spelling

I can't think of a way to wrap my hands so that they are supported as well as they are with a boxing-style wrap

Boxers wrap their hands that way because it offers the best support, if you want to gain extra finger mobility and uncover your palm you will end up sacrificing some support, keep experimenting until you find a trade off that works for you.

CHawkins said:
Here's something that's new to me.

I recently bought a few pairs of compact MMA-style handwraps. You've probably seen them, they are narrower and shorter than boxing handwraps. The question is, should I wrap my hands differently for MMA training than for boxing?

For example, if I wrap the MMA wraps same way I've wrapped for boxing, I end up with my palm completely covered by material. This is not good for my grip.