Mitts advice for a newbie

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment Discussion' started by Frenchaussie, Jan 20, 2015.

1. Frenchaussie

Frenchaussie White Belt

Hey guys - I'm new to the forum.

I started learning muai thai and I practiced for about a year until I had a bad hip injury. After hip surgery and a year without sport the doctor has finally allowed me to go back to martial arts but I am not allowed to do any kicking :( so I'm gonna move to "Western" boxing. A few mates of mine are keen to train with me and we are looking into buying some focus mitts.

I live in Asia (Singapore) so I will be buying direct from the US (there's more choice).

Would you mind please recommending some mitts for me/us please? The budget is anywhere between $60 and $100.

I was looking at the Fighting Sports Tri Tech Curved Mitts (http://store.titleboxing.com/fighting-sports-tri-tech-curved-mitts.html) or the TITLE Gel Contoured Punch Mitts (http://store.titleboxing.com/title-gel-contoured-punch-mitts.html)

Since the mitts are going to be used by different people, I picked mitts that have a strap to ensure it fits everyone's hands.

Not sure whether I should stick to curved focus mitts of whether I should get straight mitts to allow for elbow strikes - happy to hear your views.

2. Deathstriker

Deathstriker I eat Simba and wear his skin

Ever looked into thai brands? They may be much closer and better.

3. Frenchaussie

Frenchaussie White Belt

Unfortunately, Singapore has little stock and prices for Thai brands tend to be similar and sometimes more expensive than the same products in the US. Not much competition and low sales volumes here. Plus Thai brands for focus mitts tend to have no fingers cover and no hand strap.

4. Aikidoka

Aikidoka Chief Troublemaker Double Yellow Card

Well I guess you'll have to order from somewhere else than Thailand. But I don't know why, are you sure they have no cover for your fingers? I mean there should be some that do.

5. TBK117

TBK117 Yellow Belt