Marciano not the GOAT?

S.B.**

Banned
Banned
Reaction score
Howdy Y'all

Im really quite new to the world of boxing, and really enjoy reading the wealth of info in the "HW GOAT" thread. Plenty of names/ legends Im discovering

My question, as a self confessed neophyte is: Why wouldnt Rocky Marciano feature higher on a lot of top lists, when he went undefeated? I know these kind of things are speculative and ambiguous but to me undefeated would have to equal GOAT.

Was the calibre of competition simply not there in his era??

This aint trolling and Id love a point in thedirection of a site where I could see some of the older era fights

Thanks!!!

as far as i'm concerned it's either dempsey or sweet pea.

Note: i am irrationally biased.

well... he is from a era when the mob literally ran boxing.... and blacks were treated as unequal.

Well, generally the criteria of GOAT involves longevity and quality of opposition.

I think Marciano gets underrated by most, but he did have a relatively short span where he would be considered the king of the division.

1- mob factor
2- not the most technical fighter ever
3- biggest names he beat were over the hill, came from LHW or both
4- short era of dominance

That being said, he's a an all-time Top 10 HW.

I thinks its because he beat guys who were over the hill. He's top 10 HW, but P4P, I'd say 35-40.

Howdy Y'all

Im really quite new to the world of boxing, and really enjoy reading the wealth of info in the "HW GOAT" thread. Plenty of names/ legends Im discovering

My question, as a self confessed neophyte is: Why wouldnt Rocky Marciano feature higher on a lot of top lists, when he went undefeated? I know these kind of things are speculative and ambiguous but to me undefeated would have to equal GOAT.

Was the calibre of competition simply not there in his era??

This aint trolling and Id love a point in thedirection of a site where I could see some of the older era fights

Thanks!!!