MacRea's Amateur Fight Training

Brando

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I've been reading these forums for awhile, finally joined up and figured I'd log my work. I've been training for a couple of years, mostly GPP and lifting, lost 40 lbs, and officially began boxing about 2 months ago. I use alot of different training methods: sled dragging, sledgehammer levering/intervals, sandbag work, weights, bodyweight GPP and skill training (focus mitts, heavybag, speedbag, double end bag, defensive drills, etc) are my favorites and what you'll see here more often then not. My diet is clean, and I'm a bit advocate of Ross Enamait's training manuals. Enjoy the read, I'll be adding my first entry tonight.

P.S. I am currently injured, and my training will reflect that for the next 1-2 days. Bear with me!

Thanks, Duncon! You might be disappointed tonight then, hah...

Active rest day. I'm using the 3 on/1 off trainng system, today happened to be my off day. Did some light bodyweight exercises, got warmed up with the jump-rope and stretched, and ran through some hot/cold dousing in the shower in hopes of getting my injury recovered for tommorow night.

Off to the gym tonight.

20 minute jump-rope warm-up (varying pace - sprint/jog/walk)
thorough full-body stretching

6 x 1 minute rounds technical sparring
2 rounds shadowboxing
4 rounds sparring (fought 3 different parteners - the Canadian champ (a southpaw), a fighter named Clayton with 2 fights and 2 knockouts, and a great fighter named Lindsay with a whip-like jab)

4 rounds speedbag
2 rounds heavybag
cool-down