Log for comp on 30th October

blandy

Blue Belt
@Blue
Reaction score
Decided to start a new log as my old onewas getting a bit long. I have decided to enter a grappling competition and if I can manage to get the time off work a BJJ competition at the end of November. I have been training for about 18 months now and want to try and do as many competitions as I can to get an idea of my standard before considering amatur mma at the middle/end of next year.

weekly routine will look some thing like

Monday (am)conditioning (pm)BJJ class
Tuesday Weights
wednesday (am)conditioning (pm)BJJ class
Thursday Plyo's
Friday Conditioning
Saturday Weights
Sunday Rest

Unfortunatly I can only afford to train twice perweek at the moment but that should change before the BJJ comp. For those that cant be bothered to check my old log my weights workouts consists of a sandbag and a few dumbells. I am planning on using a outdoor plyo routine from Ross Enamait's medicine ball training book with a home made ball I should finish making tomorrow. I plan to use Burpees as the core of my conditioning training

Monday 3rd October

BJJ class

Worked on some basic escapes from side control, knee in for guard or turning to your knee's. The top guys in GBUK were here for a seminar this weekend ( I was on holiday) and they emphasized they wanted strong fundimentals so I think we are going to be working on tightening up the basicas for a while.
Quite a bit or rolling at the end including doing minute drills, split into groups of 4, one person would roll for 3 minutes against a different oppent every minute. Was lots of fun, especially holding thhe person in guard so the next guy in could run over and put rear mount them ;)

(oh I know I didn't do any conditioning this morning but I only decided on this plan tonight after training)

4th October 2005

Weights

Warmed up with Pavel's Super Joints exercises

sandbag Zercher squats (90 seconds rest)
15x32kg
15x32kg
7x32kg