Live Rolling vs Drilling Technique

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by GetBeasty, Aug 27, 2010.

1. GetBeasty

GetBeasty Orange Belt

I have been training BJJ for a little over a year now.

I am not currently enrolled in any school, and I train only once (sometimes twice) a week due to being married, having a kid & a full time job. I do run/lift/bike/swim every day, but can only get together to train BJJ on the weekends. Most of my time is spent rolling (2 to 3 hours each session), with very little time devoted to drilling technique.

I train with my uncle, who has been grappling for about 4 years and is close to being a purple belt.

I am currently training to compete October 2nd in my first tournament (NAGA Southeast). What value would you place on live rolling experience vs. drilling technique? Also, I have very little takedown experience since we start from various positions (usually in each other's guard).

Thanks.

2. Balto

Balto Silver Belt

More time should be devoted to drilling than rolling if you want the simple answer. However, the more complicated answer is that there are many degrees in between and the distinction between drilling and rolling is not always clear.

Here is the continuum:

Negative resistance drilling: Your partner actively helps you complete the technique.

No resistance drilling: Your partner does not do anything active, but also complies with everything you do.

Passive resistance drilling: Your partner is obstinate, but does not really attempt to counter attack on his own.

Active resistance drilling: Also called positional sparring. You start from a given position, but your partner actively resists from there.

Active resistance rolling: What is normally called rolling. It's not generally fought with 100% intensity, but both participants are trying to defeat the other with no preset parameters. The goal here is more improvement than winning.