Letting your hands go: How?

Discussion in 'Standup Technique' started by Nuclearlandmine, Dec 16, 2012.

1. Nuclearlandmine

Nuclearlandmine Shreddin' Double Yellow Card

Like the title said, how do you let your hand go when striking? What kind of training do you do to finally comfortable throwing punches in bunches? This is one part of my training i am trying to fix but it seemed like whenever it is sparring time i always reverts to pot-shoting mode with mostly my jabs and barely any rear hand at all instead of stringing 3 or 4 punches combination like any good boxers do. While on one part i understand it is a confident issue and i'm a noob at striking but i think with proper drilling and such i can be better at trying to stringing hit together instead of just get one shots and then admire my work for a split second before getting bashed in the face for that.

Any ideas guize?

2. Popsaregood230

Popsaregood230 Blue Belt

You're scared of being countered I'm guessing? I've got the same problem. What I do though is just fight the fear and throw combos anyways lol. Sparring is different than a fight, you're allowed to get hit, especially if you learn something from it.

3. Nuclearlandmine

I guess it is partly that. But another thing i think is that my body lacked proper drilling to actually do it. It just all freeze up and shit.

4. SaiWa

SaiWa Black Belt

this may not be right but its my opinion on you.

your mental game is the first thing. you are afraid of mixing it up. your main priority when you fight is dodging and countering instead of just plain attacking. nothing wrong with that but it's the way you are programmed or programming yourself through training.