Let's talk about Kesa Gatame/Scarf Hold

Discussion in 'Grappling Technique' started by Kirra, Feb 15, 2016.

1. Kirra

Kirra Orange Belt

First of all, I believe we need to clear something up.

This is Hon Kesa Gatame/Kesa Gatame/Scarf Hold:

[​IMG]

This is Kuzure Kesa Gatame/Modified Scarf Hold:

[​IMG]

I've been searching for Kesa Gatame vids lately and half of them have been about Kuzure Kesa Gatame. How would you like it if half of all Kimura vids were about the Americana? We are not animals, we live in a society, let's call things by their assigned names shall we?

With that out of the way, let's talk about Kesa. I've been playing around with it for the past few months and I've kinda fallen in love with it. When I started training I was told that Kuzure Kesa was much better since regular Kesa would lead to you having your back taken. I find this not to be true at all. Lately I've been submitting everybody around my level (shitty blue belt) from Kesa (with pressure alone like 80% of the time and I'm a regular sized guy) and haven't had my back taken as far as I can remember. In fact, I think that regular Kesa is a much better position than Kuzure Kesa cos I feel that there's less effective escapes from there. You can't push their head away like you can with Kuzure Kesa, so the only two good options you have is trying to turn in or getting your hips close to theirs and try to bump their forward to hopefully make space for a reversal or the first escape.

My biggest problem with Kesa so far has been getting to it. My Judo throws are horrible, so I'm left with going to Kesa from Side Control or Mount, but that feels risky sometimes cos you need to be quick and precise. I do it pretty much like the guy in this video, but I still feel like I'm half a second from having my back taken in this transition.