Leglocks - why so neglected?

Matt Thornton

Amateur Fighter
Reaction score
Maybe it's just me, but it seems like when I roll with a lot of guys, they comment when they notice I like to attack the legs. I don't always go for them, but whenever there's an opportunity I go for it. It even seems like I'll be with guys who are absolutely tooling on me in the positioning game, passing my guard and sidemounting me, but when I go for their legs, suddenly they're helpless. My first night at my MMA gym, I caught a purple belt with an inverted heelhook, I've caught two of my instructors with a toehold, and when I went up to TriStar, I tapped 4 guys in a row with a toehold.

The above sounds like I'm tooting my own horn, but it's really the opposite. I've been doing BJJ (no gi) for about 6 months, and while I do have a wrestling background, and I train and study MMA nonstop, I shouldn't be able to tap some of the guys who I have.

It seems to me like leglocks get neglected a lot, maybe because they're a little bit more difficult to teach? Guys just assume the only leglock there is is an Achilles tendon pull (footlock), and then when I start going for toeholds and heel hooks, they don't know what's going on.