Left Hook: Palm down or thumb up?

10000 Days

Green Belt
@Green
Reaction score
I've been boxing since 2007, and have been training in the same gym until 2012. Stopped training for 2 years because of work, but tried to come back since May of last year. I've been travelling around for the past year, and worked in different gyms.

For the first 5 years of training, I was taught to throw the left hook with my palms down. But for the past 15 months, half of the gyms told me to punch with my thumbs up, and half of them wanted me to stick to palms facing down on the left hook.

So is it better to throw the left hook with my palms down or thumbs up?

Both...It makes doubling it easier if you start with thumbs up for the first hook and the twist into the follow up..

It's all relative to the situation.. but I would say there is no reason to exclude options in how you throw a punch...if you can find a use for it, do it...

I think palms down is textbook. If nothing else, it discourages throwing the hook wide. But for people with rotator cuff problems (*raises hand), thumb up is an acceptable alternative.

Both...It makes doubling it easier if you start with thumbs up for the first hook and the twist into the follow up..

It's all relative to the situation.. but I would say there is no reason to exclude options in how you throw a punch...if you can find a use for it, do it...

Makes sense... I asked, because the gym where I "grew up" as a boxer for the first 5 years discouraged me from using the "thumbs up" approach because my trainer told me that you'll develop more power and distance when your palms are down. If I didn't train in another gym, I wouldn't think that thumbs up would be an option

I think palms down is textbook. If nothing else, it discourages throwing the hook wide. But for people with rotator cuff problems (*raises hand), thumb up is an acceptable alternative.